1. NEW BROMELIAD FORUM
    Guest - Don't miss our new forum. Perhaps you have something to add or share with us.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Check out, join, and contribute to our Facebook Page. Help get more people to the Forum. NEW TROPISCAPE FACEBOOK GROUP
    Dismiss Notice

What's your air layer criteria?

Discussion in 'THE CROTON SOCIETY' started by Crazy for Crotons, Apr 11, 2011.

Please Help Support Our Generous Sponsors

1. Crazy for Crotons

Crazy for Crotons Well-Known Member

What does a plant have to look like before you slap on an air layer? Of course, the 5 foot tall plant with three leaves on top is a candidate. I'm talking about the less obvious situations where the plant is leggy but maybe only 2 feet tall. Is it a good idea to air layer a plant that defoliated but is coming back with new growth only on top? Should you wait a season for the plant to regain its strength?

2. Bullwinkle

Bullwinkle Esteemed Member

Great questions,I am pretty new to airlayering so I am putting on several each week and getting some experience.I tried the more common varieties first to get the hang of it.I had about a 80% success ratio but the time was not right (January).I have since put on a couple more on some harder to find varieties.I will attach some pics in a minute.

3. Bullwinkle

Frank Brown with 2 layers.After layering tree will be around 4 ft tall.It is currently around 6 ft tall.I took the layers from the back.

Attached Files:

4. Bullwinkle

Unknown tall croton,currently around 10ft tall.I am making two "standard" layers each around 5 ft tall from this one.An ID would be great if anyone can identify.The leaves are petty big (16" or so)

Attached Files:

5. Bullwinkle

Finally a super slow Satan.Has grown only 2ft in 5 years.I put two layers on this one.

Attached Files:

6. fawnridge

fawnridge Well-Known Member