What's your air layer criteria?

Crazy for Crotons

29/06/09
What does a plant have to look like before you slap on an air layer? Of course, the 5 foot tall plant with three leaves on top is a candidate. I'm talking about the less obvious situations where the plant is leggy but maybe only 2 feet tall. Is it a good idea to air layer a plant that defoliated but is coming back with new growth only on top? Should you wait a season for the plant to regain its strength?

Great questions,I am pretty new to airlayering so I am putting on several each week and getting some experience.I tried the more common varieties first to get the hang of it.I had about a 80% success ratio but the time was not right (January).I have since put on a couple more on some harder to find varieties.I will attach some pics in a minute.

Frank Brown with 2 layers.After layering tree will be around 4 ft tall.It is currently around 6 ft tall.I took the layers from the back.

Attachments

• 115_0005.jpg
    115_0005.jpg
    248.8 KB · Views: 151
  • 115_0006.jpg
    115_0006.jpg
    231.9 KB · Views: 156
Unknown tall croton,currently around 10ft tall.I am making two "standard" layers each around 5 ft tall from this one.An ID would be great if anyone can identify.The leaves are petty big (16" or so)

Attachments

• 115_0009.jpg
    115_0009.jpg
    220.1 KB · Views: 167
  • 115_0008.jpg
    115_0008.jpg
    296.4 KB · Views: 155
Finally a super slow Satan.Has grown only 2ft in 5 years.I put two layers on this one.

Attachments

• 115_0010.jpg
    115_0010.jpg
    199.2 KB · Views: 157
  • 115_0011.jpg
    115_0011.jpg
    210.4 KB · Views: 136
Any plant that starts to block a pathway gets cut back. Recently, I've been air-layering the larger Crotons that get in the way. Just moved a huge piece of Thomas Edison into a 3-gallon can from an airlayer. Almost 36" tall in the can.