No new leaves on Captain Gilbert Cutler

annafl

Esteemed Member
I have one of these from 7-8 years back, and a good sized rooting of the mama. This year they have both decided to stall. Very few new leaves and lots of flowers. Don't remember this from other years although I never really paid attention. Very healthy otherwise, I think. Anyone's plant do this? Do some wait till fall to leaf out? What gives. No, Ray, no mites on this one either. I am new to crotons, but a pretty seasoned gardener. The FDR next to them has grown nicely, as well as the other nearby plants. Just the mama and the daughter which are 5 feet apart. Any clues or ideas?

My Capt. Gilbert Cutler has flushed no leaves this year. I believe the cause was too much shade from low hanging Jacaranda tree branches. The low branches got trimmed a couple of weeks ago, viola one branch is flushing new leaves. Not knowing your growing conditions, I can't answer for sure Ana. Franklin Roosevelt does do well in heavy shade.

One thing that Jeff Searle taught me is to trim off flowers if you want new leaves. Energy is being used making them flowers. This is especially true for newly air layered plants. They get stressed and then flower.

...and every once in a while I get a crotons that just slowly dies for no apparent reason other than the roots are almost gone. Crotons all around it are growing just fine. Go figure...
Good advice on pinching emerging inflorescences - wasted energy unless your looking for flowers for propagation.

Thanks Ron and Phil. I have been trimming the flowers off as soon as I see them. I go to it every couple of days expecting to see more. I guess there's nothing to do but keep watching it. Phil, you may very well be right. Crotons are weird plants.:(