Companion palms for crotons

annafl

Esteemed Member
I probably won't have space in my car, but just in case, I was looking at the palm list and wondering about some companion palms that might do well in my area. I am a real palm novice, so I really need your help in knowing what won't die the first winter up here or in my Sarasota conditions in general. Culture information is sketchy on the internet and difficult to interpret, and hence, I turn to you. Also, I need to know what I need not worry about being able to get, because after a minute or two, the real collectors will have emptied them out. Here is my short list. Advice/opinions please!:D

Brassiophoenix drymophloeoides
Burretiokentia viellardii or grandiflora
Cyphophoenix elegans or nucele
Dypsis madagascariensis
Euterpe oleracea
Heterospathe elata et al.
Hydriasteles
Pholidostachys pulchra
Ptychosperma caryotoides
Ptychosperma salomonense

Thanks!

Anna -
For starters, suggest you purchase a copy of: The Encyclopedia of Cultivated Palms, 2nd edition, by Robert Lee Rifle, Paul Craft and Scott Zona, Timber Press ISBN 978-1-60469-205-1. Tons of great info. The first edition is pretty good, but the second has even more info; lots of great photos. A must for any palm nut.

A good question to ask for any palms is "where's its native habitat?" If it is somewhere very tropical like Papua-New Guinea or the Amazon rain forest, it very likely will not grow well in central Florida. Cold for some of these palms is 50 degrees F.
Many palms from Madagascar will do well here like the solitary and clumping forms of Dypsis madagascariensis which you saw in my yard. A lot of the Ptychosperma will do well like the two clumping ones you saw here, P. macarthrii and the P. sp. Several Heterospathe elata are growing well at the Kopsick Palm Arboretum on the St. Pete waterfront.