Croton Novice

ScotTi

Esteemed Member
16/04/08
I am a novice when it comes to Crotons and need some info. I have a few that I have planted in the garden in many locations. I have been inspired by the pictures I have seen here. I want to start a collection of Crotons in one general area of my yard. The Croton that is in that area has done well over the years. Now here is my novice questions: How can I know how tall a named Croton will get? All about the same? Larger the leaf the taller the plant? Small thin leafs shorter the plant? Is it hit or miss or a general rule of thumb? I want to do it right the first time. Here is a picture of the area I want to start the collection after removing all the Iris out of it.

Attachments

• IMG_0344.jpg
    IMG_0344.jpg
    162.6 KB · Views: 159
To all you "experts." This is a good example of why it would be a good idea to start adding data to the named croton varieties in the Croton Encyclopedia section. Any of you can do it. Just click the "edit" tab, and give it a try.

Hopefully we can have this sort of info for each variety. Size, exposure, growth rate, and any other info or peculiarities of each type. I'll be happy to set up a template with this info so it will be standardized. It could also include history/heritage, common/rare, etc.

Let me know if you like the idea, and if you would participate.

Scott - For the most part, Crotons tend to grow into large, multi-trunked (or single, if grown that way) shrubs. Many of those in our garden have been in the ground over 10 years. Those are well over 6' tall. There is some correlation between leaf size and height, as most of the larger leaf Crotons are the tallest. However, I have a Johannis that has a long, slender leaf - up to a 8 inches long - that is just as tall as the 7' Davis next to it. The Davis leaves are as big as my foot. It all depends on your growing conditions.

Rick,