Is Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Cloves or Allspice in Hawaii?

Ranger - sounds like you live in Kaloko??? So do we. :)

Do you know Garrett Webb, of Kalaoa Gardens??? Next time I see him, I'll try and remember to ask. If anyone would know, he would.

I did a Google search for Garrett Webb, of Kalaoa Gardens, and I was shocked to see the Palms in Kona website mentioned. I used to hang out at their cul-de-sac on Laui Street , between runs, when I was a taxi driver. I even made a video there one time, where I recorded some of these large, black, plum-like, palm fruits on the side of the road. Someone there described them as, "Bismarckia", I think. The http://nativeplants.hawaii.edu/nursery/view/kalaoagardens website even gives the wrong spelling for the Palms in Kona street name. I bet THAT messed up some people's searches for Palms in Kona. I found it online, because I knew exactly where to search on the map. But no, I never knew anyone by name there, and I never saw anything besides palm trees there.[/QUOTE]

Last edited:
Is Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Cloves or Allspice in Hawaii, on the Big Island? If yes, where? I want to see them and smell them, and maybe buy a tree if it would survive at 3,000 feet on the Big Island.
I live in south Florida zone 10 and have a Allspice tree that I grew from seeds out of a spice jar. You will love the smell of the leaves and the wood is used for jerk BBQ much like Guava in Hawaii

I live in south Florida zone 10 and have a Allspice tree that I grew from seeds out of a spice jar. You will love the smell of the leaves and the wood is used for jerk BBQ much like Guava in Hawaii
You grew from seeds out of a spice jar? Are you saying that you bought a bottle of allspice berries at a grocery store, and were able to grow them? Is that how I can do it?