How to Propagate Cordylines (Ti plants)

Boy Sean - I don't want you to feel bad, but I have a hard time killing Ti Plants. I have cut the cane and let it lay in the dirt for months, then it gets partially buried and ends up growing again. I don't know what to suggest, as it sounds as if you know a little about growing stuff, and have tried water rooting, etc.

What type are you trying to root. Can you show us a few pics? Have you let the cut callous over a day or two before putting it in water or the wet media.

What exactly is happening when you try to root them. Are they rotting?

Howzit everyone. I'm new to this post and just trying to get some more information and hopefully meet others with similar interest. Like many on this forum post, I too have the ti bug. My difficulty is within my success rate of rooting. The ti that I have been able to root are doing well. But right now it really seems hit or miss with me and lately has gotten me a little down that I am unable to root this plant that is said to be so easily rooted. So basically I am looking for any information that would benefit my rooting success rate. I have had a batch of cane cuttings in soil since April 1 and inspecting them they show little to no signs of rooting. What propagation media do you find works wells and/or tips to help encourage root development and improved success rate. I have tried water rooting, but read the negative effects of water grown roots when transplanting plus my lack of success. Haven't had much success with horizontal rooting either. Most of my rooted ti I have rooted vertically in either a soil or soilless mixture.
Mahalo nui for the time and help.

Are you using a "root tone" kind of product to stimulate root development? A well aeriated soil that is kept moist but not waterlogged should be beneficial. Scott is the master Ti Plant grower - he knows way more about these plants than I.

Scott ?