Last round of Fertilizer

Moose

Esteemed Member
10/09/09
Today I finished fertilizing with granular fertilizer on the crotons in the Moose Land. This is a three month fertilzer but the majority of it will be disipated within 60 days with some residual. This is the last granular feeding for the year. Oct. 1st is just 60 days away and the hardening process needs to begin then.

Hard to believe with this heat, planning for fall is starting. ;)

Randy -

For the crotons:

Diamond R Fertilizer Co. Inc. (AFEC)
Acid Loving Blend #1744
7-4-5 (2% slow released Nitrogen).

For the palms:

Landscape Palm Special #7216
12-4-12 (4% Magnesium)
4.09% slow release Nitrogen
5.62% sloe release Potassium

6.28% Sulfur
1.50% Manganese
0.06% Copper
1.35% Iron
0.14% Zinc
0.06% Boron

Drs. Timothy K. Broschat & Allen W. Meerow's original Palm Fertlizer formula. Their improved formula is an 8-4-12 with 4% Magnesium. I've been using the original formula for 17 years with excellent results. Never saw a reason to switch to the "improved" formula plus its $2.00 more per bag.

Ray - For both Palms and Crotons (air layers) in containers I use:

Container Palm #8242
12-4-12
8.36% slow release Nitrogen
4.49% slow release Potassium
3.20% Magnesium
1.41% Sulfur
0.54% Manganese
0.05% Copper
1.11% Iron
0.11% Zinc
0.03% Boron

Ray - Comes in 50 Lb. bags. I get my water soluble fertilzer from them as well in 25 Lb. bags. :)

Diamond R Fertilizer Co. Inc.
18375 S.W. 260th Street
Homestead, FL 33031

Give them a call for a distributor up you way.

Phone: 305-247-8800.

Finished fertilizing the palms today. Done with granular for the year except for the K-Mag in November.

Ron,

Where can I get a couple of bags?

A friend was told by a box store employee that their fert will be back on their shelves in sept. Is that too late to give the last once over on the yard?